“The Ready Made” Continues

On Wednesday I continued to draft out ideas for the final project on my A1 sheet.

I mostly focussed on the collage element which features at the back of the box. I experimented more with the transfer drawings, trying combinations of transfers and creating superimpositions of images over each other.

I became drawn to two more images, that of the parade at Lenin’s death, and in particular the detail of large flags that appear black in the old print; these are very menacing angular forms which I thought would be interesting to isolate. Also this was probably one of the main points at which Lenin’s image changed to the cult of personality.

I was also drawn to a famous pair of photographs, in which Stalin stands by one of his lieutenants, who is then absent in the second photograph despite them being the same image. He was doctored out following a purge. I thought this fit well with the theme of the piece.

In order to show the propaganda element that became Lenin’s image following his death I chose an old Soviet poster which shows Lenin pointing aggressively. I abstracted this into a simple design reducing the colours to black, white and red, and the shapes to simple angles, in imitation of the Russian abstract artists of the 1920s, like El Lissitzky.

I made several designs for the collage, eventually settling on a grid design. The collage combines prints of photographs, and drawing and painting, in order to continue the theme of different types of images and their treatment by politics.

I used the image of Lenin in disguise as the main theme, repeating it in print sixteen times as a contrast to the melting wax figure of Lenin at the bottom. Superimposed in the top corner is a photograph of the German philosopher Walter Benjamin who wrote extensively on reproduction and the nature of images. Superimposed on the third row down is a picture of the teenage lenin, which is just visible, and along from that is a print of the famous Stalin image. Below this is my abstract design, and below that a painted version of the flag shapes.

 

 

Leave a Reply

