“Artefact”: Development Part One

I started off with a new sketchbook.

The small Hiroshige room in the Ashmolean is a lovely place. I went there several times and made three copies from his prints. Very few people come in; it is small and has a bench. The ambience was very good for working.

This piece, “Suruga Street” was the stimulus. My immediate interest in his work came from his urban subject matter, something I focus on frequently. I began by drawing from the original prints to get a better sense of the works, to dissect them and find the key elements. I very quickly began considering what a contemporary response might look like.

Copy of 1.jpeg

Leave a Reply

