FMP: Early Development

The next stage was to hand in a proposal, and present ideas to a panel. I started to boil my ideas down and find something of interest. The initial spark was watching Leos Carax’s film Mauvais Sang from 1986. In the opening scene we see a Paris Metro station; Carax removed the posters and put in his own stylised designs.

I don’t know why but seeing this seemed to reconcile lots of the disparate interests from my mind map. I have been very interested in urban subjects all year, including subway trains. I have also recently been watching and have been hugely inspired by lots of French New Wave cinema, and have been looking at collage and montage all year.

In photography I have also for some time been preoccupied by the aesthetic and atmosphere of the underground world.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Leave a Reply

